All things hip-hop, all things Tor

Weezy F. Baby (is the ‘F’ for film buff?)

It just may be. I mean Weezy has used his share of film references in verses during the years. The most recent coming in the form of his single “I’m Single” (see what I did there). This time Wayne references one of my favorite movies ever New Jack City. It seems those Cash Money folks are fond of that movie too the name of their label is Cash Money for Christ sake. Their crew was called CMB just like the crew in New Jack. Wayne has named his album Tha Carter 3 different times and yes I know that his last name is Carter but Tha Carter was also the name of the building Nino & his Cash Money brothers took over in New Jack, coincidence I think not. Wayne even filmed his video for “Hustler Musik” uptown in Harlem where NJC was set. I think it’s safe to say the homie is a fan. What got me to make this particular post was all the yout dem totally unfamiliar with the songs origin. I asked a group of teeny boppers if they liked Weezy to which they ALL emphatically shouted YES!!! I then asked if they were familiar with the song “I’m Single” they absolutely knew the song & even serenaded me with the explicit version of the songs chorus. Then I asked about the line “had to cancel that bitch like Nino” & none of ’em could provide me with a correct answer. I heard things like “cancel that bitch like we know”, I heard Wayne had an artist on Young Money named Nino that got dropped (I can’t be mad at that kind of in depth reasoning though). I heard all types of shit. I explained to them what the line meant & where it came from and honestly they could really care less. They were like “oh I know that movie…my pops has the DVD”, hahaha. Damn kids!!! It was an enlightening experience to say the least. It’s also an experience I choose not to have again. I can’t stand these know it all, skinny jean, mohawk, reading glasses wearing teenage bastards and wish to have as little contact with them as possible. I believe the children are our future…I also believe our future is fucked!!!! Hahaha nah not really….but really.

Here’s the infamous scene from New Jack:

Here’s the Wayne joint:

Free Weezy!!!

2 responses

  1. “I can’t stand these know it all, skinny jean, mohawk, reading glasses wearing teenage bastards…” = GOAT

    May 30, 2010 at 5:19 PM

  2. tru tru

    May 30, 2010 at 5:42 PM

Leave a Reply

